Ralph Vaughan Williams (18721958)

Symphony No. 8 in d minor

für: Sinfonieorchester


Autor/KomponistRalph Vaughan Williams
HerausgeberDavid Lloyd-Jones
Umfang120 Seiten; 18,9 × 24,6 cm
Verlag/HerstellerOxford University Press
Hersteller-Nr.OUP 9780193413306
29,15 €
Lieferzeit: 1–2 Wochen.
auf den Merkzettel


Vaughan Williams wrote his Symphony No. 8 between 1953 and 1955, when he was in his eighties. It is his shortest symphony, and is considered by many to be his least serious. Aside from a few sombre moments, the symphony is optimistic in mood and displays Vaughan Williams's love for exotic and colourful combinations of instruments, with a percussion sections that, he said, employs 'all the 'phones and 'spiels known to the composer'. For this newly engraved edition, editor David Lloyd-Jones has consulted all extant sources and materials to create a score matching the composer's intentions.

The full score is completed with Textual Notes and Preface, and accompanying orchestral parts are available on hire.

Orchestration: 2 fl, 2 ob, 2 cl, 2 bn(opt 3rd), 2 hn, 2 tpt, 3 tbn, timp, 4 perc [opt 5th], 2 hp, cel, str